Beginning with St. Joseph Academy’s Class of 1914-15 and continuing up to the current class of 2018, every McNicholas student has walked through the iconic convent building, which now houses business offices and the World Languages classrooms. When McNicholas High School was St. Joseph’s Academy, the convent building was the only building on the campus. In 1997, the Convent was turned over to McNicholas by the Sisters of St. Joseph, where it now houses business offices and the World Languages classrooms.
To honor the 100 years since the convent was built, McNicholas will be hosting an open house on Sunday, Dec. 7, from 6-8 p.m.
During the event, the first and second floors will be open to the public. In each room, a picture depicting what that space in its early days will be on display. The hope is that this side by side comparison of the past and present will capture the changes in both the building and the McNick community.
“We’re going to let the pictures do the talking and see how the rooms we use today have been used over the past 100 years,” Director of Communications Shannon Kapp said.
Since the event is taking place during the season of Advent, the administration thought it fitting to incorporate a Christmas celebration into the festivities. At 7 p.m., a tree lighting ceremony will take place behind the military memorial. The Rocket Band and the Liturgy Choir will be performing Christmas carols, and children’s games and refreshments will be available. Rumor has it that Santa will also stop by for a visit with all of the future Rockets.